Explore Float

Atlantic Avenue Subway Head House

In front of the new Barclay’s Center in the middle of traffic, this structure looks oddly out of place. Built in 1908, it was the entrance to the Interborough Rapid Transit line, the first regularly operated subway in New York City. When the line was finally complete, the new York TImes celebrated “A 20-mile ride from Brooklyn to 242nd Street for a nickel is possible now.” The building has been completely gutted, and now functions as a skylight for the new Barclays center station below.