Explore Float

Louise Nevelson Plaza 1978

by Louise Nevelson, 1899-1988

Louise Nevelson Plaza opened in 1978, dedicated to and featuring work by the sculptor. For her plaza, Nevelson designed seven sculptures, ranging from twenty to seventy feet in height. Nevelson was inspired by flags, and wanted her sculptures to seem like they were flying, so she raised them on poles. The group of sculptures is aptly entitled “Shadows and Flags.” Nevelson often works with wood, plexiglass, and found objects to create her sculptures, but for “Shadows and Flags” she used a more outdoor-appropriate Cor-Ten steel painted black. After 9/11, the plaza was rearranged to allow better surveillance at the Federal Reserve, adjacent to the plaza. The sculptures were removed for restoration in 2008 after the surfaces were damaged in 9/11.


1978 Louise Nevelson Plaza officially opens
2004 Plaza transformed into tree-filled open space
2010 Plaza re-opened to the public

Reference Links

wiki Louise Nevelson
link Downtown Alliance: Louise Nevelson Plaza
link Louise Nevelson Foundation
internal gDoc