Explore Float

Our Lady of Mount Carmel

Our Lady of Mount Carmel was founded by Italian immigrants in 1887. With mass immigration from Italy to New York, the original location at North Eighth Street and Union Avenue became too small to house its rapidly increasing congregation. A construction project for a new, larger church, at its present location, was completed in 1930. Our Lady of Mount Carmel remains an important part of the Italian-American cultural heritage of Williamsburg and is the location of an important yearly festival: The OLMC Feast, a two week summer celebration culminating on July 16th.