Built somewhere between 1916 and 1921, the Russian Orthodox Cathedral of the Transfiguration is a testament to the diversity of Williamsburg’s cultural heritage. It’s founders came from present day Poland who left the then Austro-Hungarian empire in search of a better life. It is the only remaining example of Byzantine revival architecture in New York, and possibly the United States. In 1980, the church was added to the National register of Historic Places. In 2008, it marked its 100th year and remains an important piece of history to the Russian Orthodox population of Williamsburg and surrounding neighborhoods.